To the left Johann Zauner Karl Zauner Maria Anna Zauner To the right
To the left Viktor Zauner Rosina Öfner Zauner Richard Kurth Zauner To the right
To the left Hildegard Zauner Josef Zauner To the right

 

Johann
Zauner

1803 - 1868

Dr. Wirer invited the Viennese viticulturist, wine seller and confectioner Johann Zauner to Ischl to manage his new cake shop. The first Zauner Café was opened in 1821 in the former "Wirerkeller" in  the Maxquellgasse (the place still known as the Zaunerkeller today) and the main café was opened in the Pfarrgasse in 1832. On 7th August 1837 Johann Zauner married Anna Zeits, however she died at the young age of 30. Only one year later Zauner married again and his second wife Elisabeth Binder gave him 3 sons. In 1840 he opened a restaurant organizing parties for the high society in a casino and ballroom on the banks of the river Traun. By this time he already owned the building in the Pfarrgasse, numer 32, where the café was located. He became increasingly successful and his cake shop increasingly popular. He died on 4th July 1868 at the age of 65.

Karl

Zauner

1846 - 1889

As second son he took over the management of the business following the death of his father. He opened the new establishment in the Pfarrgasse in 1869, four years after the fire which destroyed much of Ischl.

Maria Anna
Zauner

1850 - 1925

Maria became the sole proprietor of Zauner following the death of her husband, Karl. However she soon met Hans Melzer, an engineer and emigrated with him and her youngest son to the United States. She left her other 9 children  behind. In 1905 she returned from the United States and handed over the business to her son Viktor. She had been the legal owner during the 10 years she had been away andhe had been running the business in her absence.

Viktor
Zauner - Kommerzialrat

1877 to 1950

Viktor was the eldest son of Karl and Maria Zauner and was only 18 years old when his mother emigrated to America. At the time he was working in the Gerstner Cake Shop in the Kärntnerstrasse in Vienna but was quickly brought back to Ischl to manage the business. It was through his hard work and business acumen that the cake shop flourished. At the age of 43 he married Anna Binder, a longtime cashier in the café. She looked after the café along with Mr. Nickerl when Viktor was called up to fight for his country in the first World War.

Viktor was responsible for renovating the Café Walther which had been leased out and in 1927 opened the "Café Esplanade" Zauner, which was soon to become a popular meeting place. His wife, Anna, died childless in 1938. In 1944 Viktor adopted Rosina Öfner, a café employee. During this time he was on the lookout for a master confectioner. Richard Kurth was seen as a potential candidate, however he only married in Ischl several years later. Viktor Zauner died in 1950.

Rosina

Öfner Zauner

(1907 to 1957)

Following the death of her husband Viktor, Rosina Öfner was the backbone of the business and was concerned above all with the service and sales stuff. As there was no direct descendant - Viktor and Anna unfortunately remained childless - Viktor Zauner decided to adopt his long-time employee Rosina Öfner on 3rd December 1944. She was later to marry Richard Kurth. She tragically died from injuries received in a car accident in 1957.

Richard
Kurth

(1908 to 1970)

He was born in the small village of  Rheinfelden in Baden-Württemberg, Germany in 1908 and trained as a confectioner in the Pape Cake Shop in Lörrach. He qualified as a confectioner with distinction and then worked in Baden-Baden, Berlin, Hamburg, Leipzig, Nuremberg, Stuttgart and Wiesbaden. He attended the professional  confectioners` college in Wolfenbüttel where in 1935 he became a master confectioner - also with a distinction!

Kurth than worked in a cake shop and café in Guatemala City, which became the most famous and most popular in the country thanks of his hard word and ability. He also won competitions with his own confectionery creations and was awarded a gold medal at the International Central American Trade and Craft Exhibition.

However Kurth was arrested as an "enemy alien" in January 1942 after German had declared war on the United States on 11th December 1941 and after a long imprisonment returned home. It wasn´t long before he found his way to Bad Ischl where he started to work in the Zauner Café. He soon made a name for himself and came to the attention of Viktor Zauner.


In 1947, Kurth  married Rosina Zauner', the  adopted daughter of Viktor  Zauner, but the couple was to remain childless. The cake shop and  Café Zauner went from strength to strength and in 1958 Richard Kurth was awardet a gold medal for his "Ischler Törtchen" at the World Exhibition in Brussels.

Following the tragic death of his wife in a car accident, Richard took over the reins of the business. In 1962 he remarried. His second wife, Hildegard Reitinger, a teacher, who was a great support to him and the business started to flourish again. Richard died in 1971 at the age of 61.


1962, he married again and led the schoolmistress Hildegard Reitinger to the altar. The Zauner continued to prosper and his spouse Hildegard gave him a lot of support. Richard Kurth died in 1971 at the age of 61.

Hildegard
Zauner - Kommerzialrätin

 

Hildegard Zauner was born in Strodenitz near Budweis and is a qualified sports and domestic science teacher. She was forced to leave her home country at the end of the war and continued her education in Stuttgart. She arrived in Ischl for the first of many visits in 1952. On one of these visits she met Richard Kurth who she eventually married in 1962.

The marriage was also  childless and following the death of her husband she was forced to run the business alone. Josef Ferner proved to be a great help during this time.

In order to ensure the name Zauner remained synonymous with the business, Hildegard Kurth decided in 1982 to change her name to Hildegard Zauner. In 1987 she legally adopted  Josef Ferner.

With the object to save the world famous name of Zauner, 1982 the proprietress Hildegard Kurth changed her name to Hildegard Zauner and in 1987 Josef Ferner was adopted by Hildegard Zauner.

Hildegard Zauner still plays a vibrant and active part in the café today.

Josef
Zauner

(born 1948)

Josef Zauner was born in Tamsweg and started his apprenticeship as a baker and confectioner at the age o f 14. He qualified as confectioner at the College for Professional Confextioners in Wolfenbüttel, Germany and became a master confectioner in Germany in Braunschweig in January 1972. He qualified as a master in Austria in Linz two month later.

Josef Zauner has spent much of his time in countries such as Germany, Sweden, Hungary, Israel and Japan. He has taught at the famous "Japan Cake and Confiserie College" and has been a guest lecturer there since 1988.

As well a gradually taking over the running the business Josef Zauner has found time to appear on the Austrian television cooking series "Häferlgucker" (1978-1985) and on the Bavarian  television programme "Genießen erlaubt" as confectioner (1985).

Numerous gold medals in international competitions demonstrate the quality and creativity of the master confectioner and this culminated in the award of the Austrian Coat of Arms to the Zauner Café in 1980 by the Minister of Trade, Dr. Josef Staribacher (highest national award for excellence - similar to  Royal Purveyor).

To the left Johann Zauner Karl Zauner Maria Anna Zauner To the right
To the left Viktor Zauner Rosina Öfner Zauner Richard Kurth Zauner To the right
To the left Hildegard Zauner Josef Zauner To the right

 

Johann
Zauner

1803 bis 1868

Der Wiener Weinschenker und Zuckerbäcker wurde von Dr. Wirer nach Ischl geholt, um hier eine Konditorei zu führen.

Im alten Wirerkeller, heute Zaunerkeller, in der Maxquellgasse schlug 1821 die Geburtsstunde der Konditorei Zauner und im Jahr 1832 erfolgte die Eröffnung des Stammhauses in der Pfarrgasse. Am 7. August 1837 heiratete er und vermählte sich mit Anna Zeits, die jedoch im Alter von 30 Jahren verstarb.

Bereits 1 Jahr später heiratete Johann Zauner Elisabeth Binder, die ihm 3 Söhne gebar. Im Jahr 1840 eröffnete er im am Traunufer errichteten Casino mit Ballsall eine Traiteurie und auch das Haus Pfarrgasse Nr. 32 gehörte bereits ihm. Mit dem Zauner ging es weiter aufwärts und die Konditorei freute sich großer Beliebtheit. Johann Zauner starb am 4. Juli 1868 im Alter von 65 Jahren.

Karl
Zauner

1846 bis 1889

Er führte als zweitältester Sohn nach dem Tod seines Vaters den Betrieb der Konditorei Zauner weiter und im Jahr 1869 - 4 Jahre nach dem großen Brand von Bad Ischl - eröffnet er das neue Gebäude in der Pfarrgasse.

Maria Anna
Zauner

1850 bis 1925

Nach dem Tod ihres Gatten Karl war sie die Alleininhaberin der Konditorei Zauner. Nachdem sie den Ingenieur Hans Melzer kennengelernt hatte, wanderte sie jedoch über Nacht mit ihm und ihrem jüngsten Sohn nach Amerika aus.

Ihre anderen 9 Kinder ließ sie einfach zurück. 1905 kam sie wieder aus Amerika zurück und übergab schlußendlich den Betrieb - der bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt noch immer ihr als rechtmäßige Alleininhaberin gehörte - an ihren Sohn Viktor, der die Firma bis zur Übergabe bereits führte.

Viktor
Zauner - Kommerzialrat

1877 bis 1950

Er war der älteste Sohn von Karl und Maria Zauner, der gerade als 18jähriger in der Konditorei Gerstner in der Kärntner Strasse lernte, als er umgehendst nach Ischl zurückgeholt wurde, da die Konditorei Zauner durch die Auswanderung seiner Mutter nach Amerika ohne Führung war. Viktor Zauner war es auch der durch Eifer und Fleiß die Konditorei zu höchster Blüte führte. Im Alter von 43 Jahren heiratete er Anna Binder, langjährige Kassierin in der Konditorei Zauner, die zusammen mit Herrn Nickerl die Konditorei Zauner leitete, während Viktor Zauner zum Militärdienst beim 1. Weltkrieg eingezogen wurde.

Nachdem er das von ihm gepachtete Café Walther renoviert hatte, eröffnete er im Jahr 1927 das bekannte "Café Esplanade Zauner". Im Jahre 1938 starb seine Frau Anna die Ehe war kinderlos geblieben. Im Jahre 1944 adoptierte er Rosina Öfner, Mitarbeiterin der Konditorei Zauner. Auf der Suche nach einem Konditormeister wurde ihm Richard Kurth empfohlen, der jedoch erst ein paar Jahre später nach Bad Ischl kommen sollte. Viktor Zauner starb im Jahr 1950.

Rosina Öfner
Zauner

1907 bis 1957

Rosina Öfner war nach dem Tod der Gattin Viktor Zauners die große Stütze des Betriebes und kümmerte sich vor allem um das Servier- und Verkaufspersonal. Da es keinen Nachfolger im Hause Zauner gab - das Paar Anna und Viktor Zauner blieb leider kinderlos - entschloss sich Viktor Zauner, seine langjährige Mitarbeiterin Rosina Öfner zu adoptieren (3. Dezember 1944), die später Richard Kurth ehelichte.

Sie starb an den Folgen eines tragischen Autounfalles im Jahr 1957.

Richard
Kurth

1908 bis 1970

Er wurde 1908 im badischen Städtchen Rheinfelden geboren und erlernte das Konditorhandwerk in der Konditorei Pape in Lörrach. Nach Ablegung der Gesellenprüfung, die er mit Auszeichnung bestand, arbeitete er in Baden-Baden, Berlin, Hamburg, Leipzig, Nürnberg, Stuttgart und Wiesbaden. Im Anschluß daran besuchte er die Konditorenfachschule in Wolfenbüttel und legte - 1935 ebenfalls mit Auszeichnung - die Meisterprüfung ab.

Im Anschluß daran arbeitete er in Guatemala-City in einer Konditorei, die Dank seines großen Engagements zur bekanntesten und beliebtesten des ganzen Landes wurde. Mit eigenen Kreationen konnte er auch schöne Erfolge bei diversen Bewerben erreichen und errang bei der Internationalen mittelamerikanischen Handwerksausstellung die Goldmedaille.

Im Jänner 1942 wurde er jedoch - nachdem Deutschland am 11. Dezember 1941 Amerika den Krieg erklärte - als "feindlicher Ausländer" verhaftet und kam nach langer Gefangenschaft wieder nach Deutschland zurück. Schon bald darauf führten ihn seine Wege nach Bad Ischl, wo er in der Konditorei Zauner zu arbeiten anfing, sich bald profilieren konnte und ihm ob seiner Fähigkeiten die Anerkennung Viktor Zauners zuteil wurde.

Im Jahre 1947 heiratete er die Adoptivtocher Rosina Zauner, geb. Öfner. Aber die Ehe blieb leider kinderlos. Mit der Konditorei Zauner ging es weiter aufwärts und im Jahre 1958 konnte Richard Kurth bei der Weltausstellung in Brüssel eine Goldmedaille für die von ihm kreierten "Ischler Törtchen" erringen. Nach dem tragischen Unfalltod von Ehefrau Rosina, übernahm Richard Kurth die Agenden der Firma.

Im Jahr 1962 heiratete er wieder und ehelichte die Lehrerin Hildegard Reitinger. Die Konditorei blühte weiter auf und seine Gattin Hildegard war ihm eine große Stütze im Betrieb. Richard Kurth starb 1971 im Alter von 61 Jahren.

Hildegard
Zauner - Kommerzialrätin

 

Sie ist eine gelernte Sport- und Hauswirtschaftslehrerin, die in Strodenitz bei Budweis geboren und nach dem Krieg ausgesiedelt wurde. Ihre Ausbildung absolviert sie in Stuttgart und kommt im Jahr 1952 das erste Mal nach Ischl. Bei einem der  Ischl-Aufenthalte lernt sie Richard Kurth kennen, den sie schließlich im Jahr 1962 heiratet.

Seit dem Tod ihres Mannes - auch diese Ehe blieb kinderlos - muß sie den Betrieb alleine führen - doch Josef Ferner ist ihr während dieser Zeit eine große Stütze.

Um den weltweit bekannten Zauner weiterhin zu erhalten, erfolgte im Jahre 1982 eine Namensänderung der Besitzerin von Hildegard Kurth auf Hildegard Zauner und im Jahre 1987 erfolgte die Adoption von Josef Ferner durch Hildegard Zauner.

Auch heute noch ist die Seniorchefin in der Konditorei voll Tatendrang und Elan im Betrieb anzutreffen.

Josef
Zauner

geboren 1948

Er wurde in Tamsweg geboren und beginnt nach Absolvierung der Pflichtschule eine Bäcker- und Konditorlehre, die er erfolgreich abschließt. Josef Zauner ist Absolvent der deutschen Bundesfachschule für das Konditorenhandwerk in Wolfenbüttel. Im Jänner 1972 legt er in Braunschweig die deutsche und zwei Monate später in Linz die österreichische Meisterprüfung ab.

Josef Zauner absolviert zahlreiche Auslandsaufenthalte, u. a. in Deutschland, Schweden, Ungarn, Israel und Japan. In Japan unterrichtet er an der bekannten japanischen Konditoreifachschule "Japan Cake- and Confiserie-College" und ist seit 1988 Gastprofessor dieser Schule.

Mittlerweilen wird von Josef Zauner auch die Geschäftsführertätigkeit wahrgenommen und von 1978 bis 1985 ist er Fernsehkoch in der ORF-Sendereihe "Häferlgucker". Im Jahr 1995 ist er Fernsehkonditor in "Genießen erlaubt" des bayrischen Fernsehens.

Zahlreiche Goldmedaillen bei Internationalen Bewerben zeugen von der Kreativität des Konditormeisters und im Jahr 1980 wird der Konditorei Zauner das Recht zur Führung des Österreichischen Staatswappen durch den damaligen Handelsminister Dr. Josef Staribacher verliehen.

Rosa Maria
Zauner

???

???